Commission for the promotion of quality

As part of the Bologna Process (, in 2005 the Congregation for Catholic Education (CEC) asked all ecclesiastical universities to create an internal Commission for the Promotion of Quality (CPQ).

According to the CEC's instructions, the main tasks of the CPQ are to: a) draft an institutional strategic plan; b) identify quality control tools; and c) create a database to effectively aid and carry out the university's self-evaluation process.
This periodic self-evaluation process is to be done in collaboration with the Agency for the Evaluation and Promotion of Quality (AVEPRO), established by the Holy See with the purpose of promoting the quality of research and teaching in ecclesiastical academic institutions and assessing their compliance with international standards.

In response to these solicitations, at the beginning of 2006, the rector established an initial commission, composed of five professors and an employee of each faculty’s secretarial office, with the task of drawing up a guide to institutional evaluation. It would adhere to guidelines received, up to that time, from the Congregation for Catholic Education. This guide was studied and approved by the Academic Senate in May 2007.

Subsequently, the rector, in agreement with his council, created the CPQ, which currently includes: The president, who is the university's academic vice-rector; the director for quality promotion (DPQ), who must be a full professor who does not hold a university governing position; one faculty member from each faculty and one from ISSRA (“Istituto Superiore di Scienze Religiose all'Apollinare”), who also does not hold a university governing position; a student representative; and a non-teaching employee/manager.


The members of the CPQ are currently the following:
  • Prof.ssa Cristina Reyes (Presidente, Vicerettore Accademico. Facoltà di Filosofia)
  • Prof. Rafael Jiménez Cataño (Direttore, Professore della Facoltà di Comunicazione Sociale Istituzionale)
  • Rev. Prof. Pablo Gefaell (Professore della Facoltà di Diritto Canonico)
  • Prof.ssa Maria del Pilar Río (Professore della Facoltà di Teologia)
  • Prof. Giorgio Faro (Professore della Facoltà di Filosofia)
  • Prof. Filippo Serafini (Professore dell'ISSR all'Apollinare)
  • Dott. Giampaolo Del Monte (Addetto alla Biblioteca)
  • Dott.ssa Letícia Goes Braga (Studentessa della Facoltà di Diritto Canonico)
  • Dott.ssa Maria Federica Di Curti (Segretaria)

The CPQ also performs tasks of the Office for the Promotion of Quality.

The CPQ email address is: promoqualita [at] (subject: Da%20pagina%20web)

Since its creation, the CPQ has prepared, always in close contact with the Schools and ISSRA, the following questionnaires:

  • Assessment survey of the University by School teachers.
  • Survey for the evaluation of the University by ISSRA teachers.
  • Assessment survey of University’s general services by students of the Schools.
  • Survey for the assessment of University’s general services by ISSRA students.
  • Evaluation survey of Schools’ courses.
  • Survey for the evaluation of ISSRA courses.
  • Self-assessment survey for of clerk-work by employees.

Starting from May 2011, distribution and analysis of data from the different surveys commenced. First, the surveys for evaluating the University’s general services and that for teachers have been proposed. In September 2011 the survey for self-assessment of the work of non-teaching staff was proposed. In the following month the corresponding surveys for ISSRA’s students and teachers were proposed. Finally, in January 2012, a questionnaire for the evaluation of each course was distributed to the students of different Schools. From that date, the online evaluation of every course has become a usual practice.

The results of the general questionnaires - cumulative surveys - are delivered to the representatives of the students. The assessment of individual courses is notified to the School, which forwards it, along with the cumulative survey of all courses, to the teachers involved.

For preparation of the University’s Self Assessment Report (Rapporto di Auto Valutazione - RAV), the Commission turned to each of the Faculties, to ISSRA and to the different units which are part of the University, asking them to prepare their own reports using the data obtained from questionnaires, the 2007’s Guide for institutional assessment and the document Quality Culture prepared by the Congregation for Catholic Education.

As recommended by CPQ, each School entrusted the report to a commission of two or three professors to process not belonging to the School Management. This report was later submitted to the School Management of each School to express its own opinion.

The CPQ has benefited from the work of the Schools and other Centers and Offices complying the overall report of the University. Finally, the Commission submitted its accomplished work to the judgment of relevant School Management Committees and the Rectorate in order to avoid distorting the work previously done by the Schools and other Units.

The first RAV has been edited on 2nd October 2012 and then handed to AVEPRO, which in turn, will transmit it to the members of the Commission for External Evaluation of the University.

From 10th to 11th December 2013 the visit of the Commission for external evaluation will take place. Its members are: Rev. Prof. Ángel García Galindo (coordinator), Rector of the Pontifical University of Salamanca (Spain), Rev. Prof. James Canobbio, a professor in the Theological Faculty of Northern Italy; Rev. Prof. Ulrich Rhode, SJ, a professor of Canon Law in the Faculty of Philosophy-Theology Sankt Georgen (Frankfurt am Main, Germany), Prof. Vera Negri Zamagni, a professor at the University of Bologna (Italy) and Mr. Andrea Franzoni, a doctoral student in the Faculty of Theology of Emilia-Romagna (Italy).


Follow the university's activities

Newsletter - L'Appuntamento

Stay up to date on our activities and events